

Fondazione Internazionale Balzan "Premio"

As Chairman of the General Prize Committee of the International Balzan Foundation "Prize" and on behalf of my colleagues on the Committee, I have the honour of inviting you to submit the names of candidates for the

2024 Balzan Prizes

which will be awarded in the following four subjects:

Restorative Justice History of Modern and Contemporary Science

Biological Mechanisms of Ageing Nanoporous materials for environmental applications

Each of the four 2024 Balzan Prizes is worth 750,000 Swiss francs.

Half the Prize sum will be awarded to the Prizewinner in recognition of his/her work, while the other half will later be earmarked by the Prizewinner for research projects involving young researchers or research groups. The research proposal will be subject to the approval of the General Prize Committee.

Careful consideration will be given to all nominations.

The Balzan General Prize Committee will treat your nomination, which must be signed by the nominator, in the strictest confidentiality and in compliance with existing legislation on the processing of personal data, and expects that you will similarly respect the secrecy it entails.

December 2023

Union Maia

Luciano Maiani

Chairman; Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics at the University of Rome "La Sapienza"; Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome, and of the American Physical Society

FRANCES ASHCROFT

Professor of Physiology at the University of Oxford; Fellow of Trinity College, Oxford, the Royal Society of London and the Academy of Medical Sciences, London

SEBASTIAN BONHOEFFER

Full Professor of Theoretical Biology, ETH Zurich; Director of Collegium Helveticum; Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) and International Honorary Member of the US Academy of Arts and Sciences

MARTA CARTABIA

Full Professor of Constitutional Law at Bocconi University, Milan; President Emeritus of the Italian Constitutional Court; former Minister of Justice of Italy

SIERD A.P.L. CLOETINGH

Distinguished Utrecht University Professor; former President of Academia Europæa; former President of the European Association for Cooperation in Science & Technology (COST); former Vice-President of the European Research Council (ERC); Member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech); Foreign Member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and of the Royal Academy of Sciences and Arts of Barcelona, and Honorary Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

PAOLO DE BERNARDIS

Full Professor at the Department of Physics, University of Rome "La Sapienza"; Italian Principal Investigator of the international stratospheric balloon experiment BOOMERanG; Fellow of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei and of the Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL, Rome

BØRGE DIDERICHSEN

Former Vice President, Novo Nordisk, Denmark; former Chairman of the International Advisory Board of VIB (Flemish Institute of Biotechnology) in Ghent; former President of the European Federation of Biotechnology; former Adjunct Professor at the University of Aarhus; Member of the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences

SALWA EL-SHAWAN CASTELO-BRANCO

Professor Emeritus of Ethnomusicology, NOVA University of Lisbon; former President of the International Council for Traditional Music and former Vice President of the Society of Ethnomusicology; Founder and President Emeritus of the Institute of Ethnomusicology - Center for Studies in Music and Dance of the NOVA University of Lisbon

PAOLO GALLUZZI

Honorary President of the Museo Galileo-Istituto e Museo di Storia della Scienza, Florence; former Professor of History of Science at the University of Florence; Corresponding Member of the Royal Academy of Science, Stockholm, and of the Istituto Veneto di Scienze Lettere ed Arti, Venice; Member of the Académie internationale d'histoire des sciences, Paris, of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome, and of the American Philosophical Society, Philadelphia

NATHALIE HEINICH

Directeur de recherche de classe exceptionnelle in Sociology at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Paris; Member of the Centre de Recherches sur les Arts et le Langage (CRAL) at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS), Paris

JULES A. HOFFMANN

Distinguished Class Research Director at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (Emeritus), Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Strasbourg; Professor at the University of Strasbourg; Member of the Académie française and former President of the Académie des sciences, Institut de France, Paris; 2011 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine

PETER KUON

Professor Emeritus of Romance Philology at the University of Salzburg

CHRISTOPH RIEDWEG

Professor Emeritus of Classics / Greek at the University of Zurich; former Chairman of the ZAZH – Center for the Study of the Ancient World, UZH; former Director of the Istituto Svizzero di Roma

LAURE SAINT-RAYMOND

Permanent Professor at the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, Université Paris-Saclay; Member of the Académie des Sciences, Institut de France, of the Academia Europæa, and of the European Academy of Sciences; International Member of the US Academy of Sciences

MARJAN SCHWEGMAN

Professor Emeritus of Political and Cultural History of the Twentieth Century, Utrecht University; former Director of the Royal Netherlands Institute in Rome; former Director of the Institute for War, Holocaust and Genocide Studies (NIOD), Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, Amsterdam

MARIA STRØMME

Professor of Nanotechnology, Head of Nanotechnology and Functional Materials Division, and Chairperson of Upptech, The Ångström Laboratory, Uppsala University; Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences, and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

PETER SUTER

Honorary Professor of Medicine and former Vice-Rector for Research, University of Geneva; Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (UK); former President of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences and of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences; former Member of the Strategie-Kommission zur Exzellenzinitiative des Deutschen Wissenschaftsrates (WR) and of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

TRISTAN WEDDIGEN

Director at the Bibliotheca Hertziana – Max Planck Institute for Art History in Rome; Professor of History of Early Modern Art at the Institute of Art History, University of Zurich

Fondazione Internazionale Premio E. Balzan "Premio" - Piazzetta Umberto Giordano 4 20122 Milano, Italia - T +39 02 7600 2212 / 2976 - www.balzan.org - balzan@balzan.it